ARC: The Unfortunate Decisions of Dahlia Moss

This is a geeky mystery filled with cosplay, video games, and murder. #spon | A book review by Newberyandbeyond.com
.

Note: I received an ARC of this book through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Summary via NetGalley.com.

The odds of Dahlia successfully navigating adulthood are 3,720 to 1. But never tell her the odds.

Meet Dahlia Moss, the reigning queen of unfortunate decision-making in the St. Louis area. Unemployed broke, and on her last bowl of ramen, she’s not living her best life. But that’s all about to change.

Before Dahlia can make her life any messier on her own she’s offered a job. A job that she’s woefully under-qualified for. A job that will lead her to a murder, an MMORPG, and possibly a fella (or two?).

Turns out unfortunate decisions abound, and she’s just the girl to deal with them.

According to the NetGalley description, this book is “For fans of The Guild, New Girl, Scott Pilgrim, Big Bang Theory, Veronica Mars, or anyone who has ever geeked out about something,” and upon reading that, I was hooked. If you’re a little bit geeky, a little goofy, or a little awkward, you will instantly connect with Dahlia Moss. She has been unemployed for too long, specializing in totally blowing interviews, when a stranger offers her a job as a private detective. But she gets more than she bargained for when this client shows up dead, and Dahlia feels she must solve this mystery by diving deep into the world of internet gaming.

I admit that I lost the thread of the mystery about halfway through the book, and when the murderer was revealed, I thought, “Who is that?” But that’s my own problem, not the book’s. The mystery is very enjoyable, and the characters were interesting. Dahlia was relatable, and her friends (and suspects) are quirky and fun.

If you enjoyed The Geek Girl’s Guide to the Galaxy, you’ll definitely enjoy this mystery. I’m hopeful that it will turn into a series, because I’d love to read more of Dahlia’s adventures!

Rating: Pretty Darn Good

About Monica

I am obsessed with all things books. I’m a music teacher by day and a freelance editor by night.

Scroll To Top
%d bloggers like this: