ARC: Everything, Everything

Everything, Everything lived up to the hype--this book is incredible. #spon | A book review from NewberyandBeyond.com
.

Note: I received an ARC of this book through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster. (Summary via Amazon.com)

Before I picked up Everything, Everything, I had already heard mountains of good things about it. I couldn’t believe it was still available on NetGalley, so I immediately requested it and devoured it in one day. I enjoyed it so much that I didn’t say a word to my husband when he got home, because I was 85% of the way through the book! He had to wait patiently until I had finished the book, and I immediately began describing the whole plot to him. And then I told my sister and my sister-in-law and my bookish friends on Facebook that they absolutely had to read the book.

If you haven’t gathered already, I adored this book. It lived up to the hype 100%. I won’t describe too much of the story to you (unlike what I did to my poor husband), because part of the fun is discovering Maddy’s world for yourself. But here’s the gist of it: Maddy has a very rare immune disease that basically makes her allergic to everything. She lives in a bubble world, where her house is completely airtight, the only people allowed in and out are Maddy’s mom and her full time nurse, and Maddy is protected in a sterile room full of books and bland foods. But when Olly moves in next door, he starts communicating with Maddy, and, of course, they fall in love. With Maddy unable to leave her house, she must decide what it means to truly live.

The romance in this book was very sweet. I’m not usually into books centered on romance, but this one was pretty adorable and believable, and there was enough plot happening to keep it from getting sappy. The style of the book was also kind of unexpected–scattered throughout the book are Maddy’s drawings and worksheets, which are funny and/or cute additions to the plot. And the drama! Again, I usually don’t go in for drama like this book has, and I know a lot of people will dislike the ending of this book for that very reason, but somehow it worked for me.

For those who are squeamish about such things, there is a very short, vaguely described sex scene in this book. But please don’t let that deter you from reading it! It’s very easy to skim over if it makes you uncomfortable.

This book is recommended for fans of Rainbow Rowell and John Green, and having read both of these YA authors, I’d have to agree. Nicola Yoon provides a fresh, unexpected ride of a novel, and I can’t recommend it to you enough.

Rating: Re-read Worthy

About Monica

I am obsessed with all things books. I'm a music teacher by day and a freelance editor by night.

Scroll To Top
%d bloggers like this: